Planning and Research


The Planning and Research
Department is vested with a crucial mandate—to formulate informed strategies,
policies, and initiatives that steer the growth and development of Zambia’s
labor sector. By harnessing the power of data-driven insights and innovative
strategies, the department significantly contributes to advancing equitable
employment opportunities, safeguarding labor rights, and enhancing social


The Department of Planning and Research is headed by a Director who is assisted by a Chief Planner. The Department has three (3) functional Units;

(1) Policy and Research

(2) Planning and Budgeting

(3) Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

Each of the three Units is headed by Principal Planners and Principal ICT Officer respectively

The Sections are Policy , Research, Budget and Planning.

Primary Focus Areas:

 Strategic Planning: The department’s activities are underpinned by meticulous strategic planning, aimed at harmonizing efforts with the broader objectives of the Ministry. Through comprehensive planning, the department ensures a cohesive approach in tackling labor-related challenges and capitalizing on emerging opportunities.

 Research Excellence: A cornerstone of informed decision-making, the Planning and Research Department conducts rigorous research to illuminate labor market dynamics, employment trends, skills enhancement, and societal impacts. The insights gleaned from this research form the basis for evidence-based policies that steer positive transformations.

 Data Analysis: With a data-centric approach, the department engages in in-depth analysis of labor-related data from diverse sources. By dissecting and deciphering these datasets, the department uncovers trends and patterns that drive the formulation of effective policies, programs, and interventions.

Policy Formulation: Through active collaboration with various departments, stakeholders, and international partners, the Planning and Research Department contributes substantively to the formulation of impactful policies. These policies are aimed at fostering equitable labor practices, fostering job creation, and empowering the workforce.

Facilitating Collaboration: The department places a strong emphasis on collaboration, forging partnerships with governmental bodies, research institutions, non-governmental organizations, and international entities. This collaborative approach facilitates the exchange of knowledge, best practices, and insights, amplifying the impact of labor-related initiatives.

Department Functions:

  • To coordinate employment promotion programmes

  • To coordinate Labour Market Research activities in order to generate information for appropriate interventions.

  • To coordinate timely preparations of Ministerial plans and budget to facilitate the acquisition of resources.

  • To effectively coordinate policy formulation process in order to have consolidated policy guidelines

  • To conduct periodic monitoring and evaluation of the implementation of labour policies.

  • To coordinate the preparations of Cabinet Memoranda and all parliamentary assignments.